Exeter geographer wins fourth international honour

Professor Des Walling of the University of Exeter has won his fourth international honour in under two years.

Professor Walling has been awarded the prestigious Hydrologic Sciences Award of the American Geophysical Union for 2008. This is the senior award given by the 7,000 member Hydrology Section of the AGU. It is awarded once a year for outstanding contributions to the science of hydrology.

Professor Des Walling is based in the University’s School of Geography. He says: “I was not even aware that I was being considered for this Award and it was therefore something of a shock to receive a telephone call from the USA giving me the news. It is a considerable honour to receive this Award and I was of course delighted. I was particularly pleased to receive this recognition from the USA, since, in the early days of my career, there was very little work on the sediment loads of rivers being undertaken in the UK and I relied heavily on the work of researchers in North America for guidance”

In making this award, consideration is given both to contributions made over a lifetime and, most importantly, to recent work. Professor Walling has been honoured for his work in greatly enhancing our knowledge and understanding of sediment behaviour in river systems.

Previous winners include famous hydrologists from around the world such as W.R. Langbein, J.C.I. Dooge and S.A. Schumm.

Professor Mark Goodwin, Head of the School of Geography said: “This award is the fourth international honour bestowed upon Professor Walling in the last two years and confirms his status as a leading world hydrologist. “ We are very proud that the School has staff of Professor Walling’s calibre.”

Date: 1 December 2008

Read more University News